A Creation Story

Creation stories have always fascinated me because they’re treated so differently among different cultures.  In the white, Western world, what the Ancient Greeks/Haida/Iroquois/so on believe in is called “legend,” implying a history and mystery that quite clearly suggests that these are simply fanciful tales that non-monotheistic peoples naively believe.  (Don’t even get me started on how such terms consistently place living cultures in the past…)

I’ve never heard someone say, “According to Christian legend/myth…” because even in the secular world, worship systems that are structurally familiar to us (similar to Christianity) are dogmatic religions, and all other systems are interpretative beliefs.

Anyway, this post is not about religion.  It’s about semantics, really, how words change and define how we interact with and react to the similarities and differences in ideas.  Whether or not that’s really what “legend” means, I don’t know.  I’m not going to look it up. Technical meaning does not help us with the practical.

This post isn’t even really about semantics, or semiotics, or whatever other linguistic jargon I can think of to describe what I’m talking about.  It’s really just a vehicle for me to showcase some doodles I did.

And so.

(click to enlarge)

(click to enlarge)

Leave a Reply

